Press "Enter" to skip to content

Karnataka Assembly by-election only after verdict on disqualified MLAs

  • Election Commission gave information to Supreme Court
  • The by-election programs were announced earlier
  • The bench of three judges is hearing the case
  • The decision of the Speaker has been challenged


New Delhi: Karnataka assembly by-elections have now been postponed.

Earlier, this election was scheduled to be held on October 21.

In this regard,

the Election Commission has informed the Supreme Court

that any further action will be taken on this only

after the decision in the case of MLAs who

have revolted from the previous government.

It is noteworthy that the collapse of JDS

and Congress government was also due to the rebellion of these MLAs.

Since then, there has been a legal debate on whether they are ineligible.

Meanwhile, by-elections were announced on these seats in Karnataka.

Now the Election Commission’s by-election schedule

has been postponed till the court’s decision.

This by-election was to be held in 15 seats under

the previously announced program.

The bench headed by Justice NV Ramanna is hearing the matter

in a three-judge bench of the Supreme Court.

The decision of the then Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly KR Ramesh Kumar

has been challenged in the case of 17 MLAs disqualified

from the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Justices Sanjeev Khanna and Krishna Murari are also judges in this court bench.

This bench has made it clear that

they will give a decision only after hearing the entire matter in detail.

Meanwhile, advocate Rakesh Dwivedi, appearing for the Election Commission,

informed the court that the Election Commission

will take its further decision on this basis.

Karnataka ‘s political dispute not settled yet

No protest was lodged on this information of

the Election Commission on behalf of disqualified MLAs,

Congress leader Siddaramaiah and other petitioners.

All of them said that if the by-elections are held till the verdict,

then they have no objection.

Now the next hearing of this case will be on 22 October.

The political dispute in Karnataka started because of these MLAs.

All these MLAs who went against the party’s directive

were disqualified by the then Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly

for violating the party line.

Of these 13 people are from Congress, three from JDS

and one is an Independent MLA.

The JDS-Congress coalition government collapsed due to their separation.

After that BS Yeddyurappa became the Chief Minister again in Karnataka.

The disqualified MLAs argue that the Speaker’s decision was wrong

after the government lost the majority

and after this decision the Speaker himself has also resigned from the post.

In this regard,

the Election Commission had already informed the court

that disqualified MLAs cannot be stopped from contesting elections.


Leave a Reply

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.